Carolina Kitchen in College

Just another WordPress.com site

My Favorite Dinner! Beef Stroganof July 12, 2010

Filed under: Meat — mdebaugh @ 3:59 am

Last night I helped my Dad make dinner. I always love cooking with him. My mom even suggested that my dad and I open a restuarant together. Who knows, maybe it will happen in the future. 

We made my favorite dinner. I always like to have it on my birthday, unless we go out to a Japanese Steakhouse. It is very rich and comforting to me. While it sounds like a fancy meal too, it is very easy to put together.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound beef tenderloin or sirloin steak, about ½ inch thick
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • ½ mushrooms washed, trimmed and sliced
  • 1 medium onion, minced (about ½ cup)
  • 1 can condensed beef broth (9 ½ ounces plus 1 ounce white wine)
  • 2 tablespoons catsup
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup dairy sour cream (room temperature)
  • 3-4 cups hot cooked noodles
  • Secret ingredient 😀

Directions:

  • Cut meat across the grain into ½ inch strips, about 1 ½ inches long. Melt butter in large skillet. Add mushrooms and onion; cook and stir until onion is tender, then remove from skillet. In same skillet, cook meat until light brown. Reserving 1/3 cup of the broth, stir in remaining broth, catsup, garlic, and salt. Cover; simmer 15 minutes.
  • Blend reserved broth and flour; stir into meat mixture. Add mushrooms and onion. Heat to boiling, stirring constantly. Boil and stir 1 minute. Reduce heat. Stir in sour cream; heat. Serve over noodles.
 

One Response to “My Favorite Dinner! Beef Stroganof”

  1. Spice King Says:

    Hmmmm…. The secret ingredient. Well I am guessing it would be a spice of course. Is it possibly paprika, some kind of pepper, or basil? Those are my guesses.


Leave a Reply

